Minnesota used to have some of the more lenient DWI laws, but in 2005 the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) was dropped from .10 to .08. This means it is easier to be convicted of a DWI offense in Minnesota, so drivers need to use even more caution and avoid driving after drinking.
If you are arrested for driving drunk in Minnesota for the first time, you will be asked to submit to a chemical test. In this state you have the right to talk to a lawyer before submitting to the test to determine if it is the best course of action. If you are convicted, you will pay up to $3,000 in fines. You could also end up in jail for up to 90 days. DWI offenders are required to attend alcohol education classes, and they will lose their licenses temporarily. A qualified Minnesota DWI attorney will be able to help you fight for the least strict consequences after your DWI arrest.
In Minnesota, DWI law allows prosecutors to ask for stricter penalties if there are three or more aggravating factors in a particular case. Aggravating factors include extremely high BAC, injuries caused, and children present in the vehicle. It these are present, the fines increase to up to $10,000 and jail time increases to up to five years.