If you are tempted to drive under the influence of alcohol in the state of Oklahoma, you may think that all you have to deal with is a fine or two if you are caught. This is a risky gamble to make, because the truth is that you will face severe penalties for drunk driving arrests in Oklahoma, even if you are facing your first one.
Drunk driving offenses, or Oklahoma DUI arrests, are those cases when a driver is convicted of driving with a BAC of .08 percent or higher. This is a misdemeanor, which means you will end up with a criminal record. You will pay up to $1,000 in fines. You will also spend at least 10 days in jail, with the total jail time allowed being one year. In addition, you will lose your right to drive. You will have your license revoked for 180 days. As you can see, these penalties should not be taken lightly.
Remember, in the state of Oklahoma, you do not have to be physically driving the vehicle to be convicted of DUI. If you are sitting behind the wheel of a parked vehicle while drunk, you can still be considered guilty. If you are facing these charges, consider hiring a lawyer to help you face the court. You may be able to take some lesser penalties if you have professional help.